Change Background Colour when Hovered using codeless

Good Day,

I would like to change the block background colour when the block is being hovered over. How do I do this using codeless logic?

Kind Regards
Donovan

Hello @Donovan_Hardwick

Are you talking about the ui-builder “block” component?
Do you have to use the codeless?
I will show you how to do that without codeless

Add class to block

Add styles

someClass:hover {
  background-color: red;
}

Regards,
Viktor

Hi @viktor.liablin

Thank you for the assistance. I prefer codeless over coding but this seems simple enough, I will give it a try and get back to you.

Kind Regards
Donovan

Hi @viktor.liablin

I tried it and it is not working. I have added the Syntax to the Theme > Extension > New Extension > Editor, I have also added “Classes” tag. Please see screenshots below, bare in mind I am not good at coding so I might have missed something obvious.

Screenshot 2021-12-01 at 17.21.13

I have tried to work it through codeless logic but also without any luck. The logic would be when the the “MenuButton” is hovered over the background colour must change to #4DE780. The if statement is only to control the hover effect if the “Main Menu” dropdown menu is visible or not.

I would prefer to learn how to do this using codeless as I would like to change more objects than block background colour, I would also like to change icons and text colours on click events to better user experience.

Kind Regards
Donovan

@Donovan_Hardwick

You missed a dot before a “someClass” in editor
It is not good practice work with styles via the codeless if it can be done using the extension editor.

Hi @viktor.liablin

Thank you, it works!!

Do you mind explaining why “It is not good practice work with styles via the codeless”. Like I said earlier I am not trained in coding so a deeper explanation or maybe link to a page with all the basic coding syntax would be much appreciated.

Kind Regards
Donovan

Hi @viktor.liablin