Integrating 3rd party node librarys in cloudless code

Hello!

I’m in the process of developing an API endpoint within my teams backendless application. To do this I’m creating and registering a service in cloud code. Some of the functionality of the service ideally would like to use a 3rd party node library. I’m still relatively new to backendless, but I couldn’t find anything in this in the documentation. Is there a way to accomplish this in cloud code? If so, could you point me in the right direction?

Hello @braxton_kinney

We will be happy to assist you. I need to ask you a few more questions so I can understand the problem better.
What language do you use when developing API endpoint: JS or Codeless?

Regards,
Volodymyr

Here is the description:
Codeless - How to use NPM modules in Codeless logic in API Services, Event Handlers and Timers
JavaScript/NodeJS - Installing Custom Modules - Developing Backendless Server Code with node.js

Regards,
Volodymyr

Hello Volodymyr!

Thank you for getting back to me, I’m developing in the API endpoint in Javascript. These links are helpful but I am still a little lost, and I think this is due to my inexperience with Backendless and workflows regarding Backendless API services. Regarding the “Installing Custom Modules” link, there isn’t a console / terminal within Backendless to my knowledge, so I’m assuming we run npm commands to download third party packages locally in an associated project directory. After this is where I have gaps in my knowledge - I’m able to run js files locally on my machine, but how do I register this Javascript file containing code from a third party module from my machine to my Backendless application? And can I do this in cloud code? Or do I have to register this service using the SDK?

Would you be able to point me in the right direction again?
Thank you so much

Hi @braxton_kinney ,

Here is the way to create an API service
https://backendless.com/docs/bl-js/bl_advanced_quick_start_setup.html