Javascript Security Example

Hi,

Im new to backendless. I think its a great product.

I have gone through the Missions steps up until my Springboard plan was unlocked.

I have a bit of a concern with regards to the security. Especially with the javascript API.
There seems to be a lot of questions around it but no clean answers.

I want to create a web app with an companion mobile app in cordova.
I dont have to much of a concern with hiding my Keys in cordova (I will get them obfuscate).
I can also set up CORS for the web site, but this wont prevent people from using my keys and have access to my data.

I basically dont want anyone to have access to my data unless they have logged in.

Is there an example or a proper tutorial on how to protect your data properly.

How does the api know who is accessing the data and if the user is an AuthenticatedUser or NotAuthenticated user.

I have also set up Domain Control to a specific domain, yet I can still access the data via a node.js app without the need to log in.

Many Thank in advanced.

Hello @Bennie_Matthee

Welcome to our community and thank you for trying out Backendless.

Please read more about Data Security from official documentation: Data Security.

Hi Bennie,

Securing your app by hiding or obfuscating the keys is not the way to go. Yes, you are making it harder to get the keys, but it is only a matter of time for someone to crack the app. The true security of your data becomes possible by securing the backend. That is why we provide a very elaborate multi-tier security policy so you can control who gets to see/change the data at any level.

What you said here is absolutely the right way to start:

The simplest way to do this is by going to Users > Security Roles and disabling all operations for the NotAuthenticatedUser role:

This will deny the permissions at all levels and specifically for the database, it will apply the denial of permissions to all tables.

As for the question below: