Linestring calculations and relations

Hi, Im new to backendless and trying to see if I can achieve what I want here, I hope this qualifies as an appropriate question.
Im hoping to have each user upload a linestring of coordinates for the route they are taking.
In the picture below I have represented these in red and green
When a user makes a note on their route I want to send it back to all vehicles who have a route that includes this point. This means the green route user would be notified of point A , but NOT point B
The issue is that the line strings are made of made of many points, sometimes many hundreds of meters apart so a radius search is often inappropriate and a bounding box search is too broad. Ideally I’d like to have a function that returns true if point A is alongRoute and then ping all the devices that have routes that also contain point A. I also need there to be some tolerance for error (10-20m) as no point will fall exactly within a given corridor.

My question then is : do these functions exist within backendless ,
if so thats great
if not can how can I write my own code serverside to iterate through all these points and using some coordinate math and determine if that point falls within a corridor made between one point and the next.
(I have the code to do that, just want to know if I can implement it within backendless)

Hi James,

Can this problem be reduced to knowing if two (or more) linestrings have a point of intersection? The way I read your description is it appears that way, but I am afraid I missed something.

Regards,
Mark

Almost :slight_smile: but not quite;
For the following reasons.