Support Topics Documentation Slack YouTube Blog

Migration from 3.0 to 5.0


(Feras AlSaab) #1

Hi,

I have an iOS app running on Backendless 3.0 and we have created another app on Backendless 5.0, with all our users. If the app is installed separately it works perfectly. Also, If the user logs out and logs back in it works fine.

What we are trying to do is make the transfer seamless for our users, so if a user is logged in with the app with Backendless 3.0 and the user remains logged in, can they then update to the new app (backendless 5.0) without any interruption?

Another way of asking this is can the shared instance not be interrupted? Or can we disconnect and reconnect sexlessly if the user is logged into one version and then moves to the other?

Best,

Feras A.


(Sergey Chupov) #2

Hello Feras,
Are you using Backenldess Online or Managed/Pro version? For Backendless Online there is no way you could share the logged in state of your users, because those are two different backends and they aren’t aware of the logged in state of any Users of each other. Technically, even though the Users in both version have same IDs, they’re different users because those are different apps.


(Feras AlSaab) #3

Thank you. What about the Managed/Pro version?


(Sergey Chupov) #4

In Managed/Pro it could probably be done manually (by copying the raw database or by pointing the new version to the old DB) with some downtime in your client app. We don’t have any established process for such migration so that would require our dedicated support for some time and it would be better and safer to discuss the whole migration process than just the user login state. It’s just that there’s more technical freedom with Managed/Pro because it doesn’t have to serve lots of users at any moment, therefore there are much more options with that version.