Relationship issue

Hello, i’m looking for some help setting relationships between tables. I have a sql background, and am attempting to structure the tables in typical sql fashion with an ID column that links to another table with a corresponding ID. For example, the main table would have a [StockID] column, that has a relationship to CompanySectors table column [StockID]. CompanySectors has a column [SectorID] that has a relationship to MiningSectors column [SectorID].

Looking at documentation/youtube videos, it looks like i cannot declare a relationship between columns that already exist. If i delete my columns like [stockID] and add a new column with relationship to another table, the column is blank and i have to add the relationship for each record one by one??

Any help would be appreciated, just keep in mind that i am not a coder and barely have figured out using an API :slight_smile:

Hi Joel,

Welcome to the Backendless community.

In Backendless, a relationship is established between tables by creating a relationship column. There is a special column type that specifically represents a relationship. For instance, say you have two tables: Person and Address and a single person can have multiple addresses, then you can create the addresses column in the Person table that would have the “one-to-many” cardinality:

From the code representation perspective, the Person class will have a collection field/property named addresses that will have the collection of the related Address objects.

A relationship column can be created either in Backendless console or using the API, here’s REST version:
https://backendless.com/docs/rest/data_set_add_relation_rest.html

Hope this helps.

Regards,
Mark

Thanks Mark, I think that helps me understand how Backendless handles relationships. Once the relationship columns are created do i manually set the relationship between records?