Saving BackendlessEntity with boolean attribute in Swift

Hi,
I have an Student entity class that stores a boolean parameter called ‘active’. However, when saving the model to the backend, the parameter always gets stored as NULL when I hardcode it to TRUE.
Disclaimer regarding my code, I’m new to Swift…
class Student : BackendlessEntity {

var firstName: String?
var middleName: String?
var lastName: String?
var active: Bool?
}
The save action method looks like this:
@IBAction func saveForm(sender: AnyObject) {
let student = Student()

student.firstName = self.first.text!
student.lastName = self.last.text!
student.middleName = self.middle.text!
student.active = true

let backendless = Backendless.sharedInstance()
backendless.persistenceService.of(Student.ofClass()).save(student, response: { (resondse) -> Void in
self.navigationController?.popViewControllerAnimated(true)
}) { (error: Fault!) -> Void in
// There was a problem, check error.description
print(“Error: (error) (error.description)”)
}
}
The result for activity when saving is done is always NULL. Am I doing something wrong here?

I came across same issue, and found out that the optional “Bool?” was causing the issue. By changing type to “Bool” resolved the issue for me. However, I’m sure there are cases where you wish to handle nil data case hence I also used optional data type in beginning…

<below does not work>

class BooleanTest: BackendlessEntity {
var boolVal: Bool?

override init() {
    boolVal = true
    super.init()
}

}

<This works as expected>

class BooleanTest: BackendlessEntity {
var boolVal: Bool

override init() {
    boolVal = true
    super.init()
}

}

Varuzhan and Hiroaki,

The boolean and numeric (for instance Int) properties cannot be optional with the current implementation in the SDK.

Regards,
Mark

I have a similar problem. I am unable to save an object and the error message lists the four Swift Bool properties: