Set Object Relationships with API (newbie)

Mission: RELATIONS MASTER
Task: Set Object Relationships with API

Hi,
(I’m new in coding)
I can’t understand what I should do, for create a relationship between two objects. I’ve tried to create an API request in postman.co and past this code :

const APP_ID = ‘6A7C277D-745E-54D3-FFA8-70058389E600’
const API_KEY = ‘1ADAAF05-F9DD-4F00-91B8-143B76150A5D’
Backendless.initApp(APP_ID, API_KEY)

const createParent = async () => {
const person = {
name: ‘Joe’,
}

try {
const savedPerson = await Backendless.Data.of(‘Person’).save(person)

return savedPerson

} catch (error) {
console.log('Error saving parent object ’ + error.message)
}
}

const retrieveChild = async () => {
const whereClause = ‘Name = ‘Dallas’’
const queryBuilder = Backendless.DataQueryBuilder.create().setWhereClause(whereClause)

try {
const [childObject] = await Backendless.Data.of(‘City’).find(queryBuilder)

return childObject

} catch (error) {
console.log(‘Error retrieving child object’ + error.message)
}
}

const establishRelationship = async () => {
const [parentObject, childObject] = await Promise.all([
createParent(),
retrieveChild()
])

try {
const count = await Backendless.Data.of(‘Person’).setRelation(parentObject, ‘cityOfResidence:City:1’, [childObject])

console.log('relation has been set')

} catch (error) {
console.log('Error creating a relationship - ’ + error.message)
}
}

establishRelationship()

But it’s not working do I have another option for send my request or is not that to do ?

Regards,
Johan

Hi Johan,

From what I understand about Postman is it can be configured to run an API request using the forms they provide in the app. Did you try pasting the code from the above directly into postman? Can it run JS code? I didn’t think so (perhaps I am missing something new they have added).