Suggestion : to make ui builder a lot easier

Hi, This one for the suggestion box. And I know I am a student making a suggestion to far more knowledgeable persons than myself, but I hope this gets a rational reception. And I realise that future tutorials may cover the ground I am writing about here. But if not, here goes.

After finishing the calculator in Marks tutorial, I looked at the code and thought it overly complicated to read. (Note: I have changed the names of the components and properties to suit my eye, but I am sure you can look past that)

Suggestion 1 : “Page Data” is going to be used 90% of the time in “GetProperty”. You could have a new Code Block “GetPropertyOnly” (or some such) that assumes the “Page Data” part, only for use with properties in Page Data.

Suggestion 2: An input box (or any other component) when named, automatically creates a default property of the same name in the input box’s “Value Logic”, which of course can be overwritten if need be. That way the name of the Input box can be used in code blocks.

If these 2 suggestions have any merit, they will represent a shift, but they will make the code blocks smaller and far more readable and understandable.

Kind Regards
BruceX

Hello @Bruce_X
We appreciate your initiative.

But I should explain some moments. Codeless based on JS, that means - Page Data is just a kind of object. So block “get property” gives you a possibility to work with ALL objects, not only Page Data / App Data but with server responses, created objects, and so on. In this case, Is think creating a separate block only for page data is a multiplication of entities.

In simple cases, you can just bind a Page Data property from the Handlers page.

What about Inputs, I don’t clearly understand you, but you can get data of any component everywhere you need.

Finally. You can simplify a piece of code from your screenshot, using variables.

If you have more questions, please let me know.

Regards, Dima.

Hi Dima