Table relationships and Object relationships

Hello - I posted this to the Slack forum but was told that this site is more appropriate.
I’m new to using this type of platform for DB management and trying to work through table relationships. I am used to creating single joins between primary keys and that is it. I have read the documentation and viewed some of Mark’s videos (very helpful).

Is it necessary to relate the objects in each table? I’m assuming that the only way the object data can be passed along in the frontend is if they are referenced in the backend.

When I loaded some data from an existing DB I had to go through and manually establish the links for each record (I have a Customer and Order table). I added a new record to the order table to test things and I expected that it would automatically create the link for the objects. But it did not. Is this something that is only done from the front end when a new record is added. Or have I missed something critical :disappointed:

Thank you
Ray

Hi Ray,

Let me address a few things so we can get on the same page.

Is it necessary to relate the objects in each table?

No, using relations is not necessary, but using relations leads to cleaner database design, which in turn leads to simpler data management. Consider the following example:

In there we have a one-to-one relation between the Person and the Address table. Every person object may have a related address. Is it necessary to do it that way? No, you could alternatively have the following way where the city name is a part of the Person table:
It may be OK with something as simple as this, however, in real applications where you may have a dozen of entities, flattening database structures this way would result in a number of problems such as performance, duplication of data, inability to understand how one entity relates to another.