UI Builder + Backendless, with custom frontend code

I’m a newbie and am having trouble answering some research questions.

I have a developer writing business logic for an App.

I am planning on building the app in Backendless using UI Builder.

The business logic the dev is writing needs to run on the device realtime (frontend I believe it is called)- running it backend would be too slow. As you change one slider, it makes complex predictions, that need to be displayed realtime to the user, without clicking submit or waiting for new calculations to be sent over the connection to the backend.

So the plan is that I create the app using backendless (backend and frontend UI) (I am a newbie learning how), and he writes code for the business logic that somehow needs to be deployed so that I can feed it data using UI Builder, and get results back into UI BUilder so I can then save the changes to the backend.

The question is how to connect that dev code to what I am building in UI Builder. He can write in many languages. Is there some way to program sections in code rather than Codeless, install those bits of code into the UI Builder system somehow, and pass and receive data from them using UI Builder? (Sorry if this is not a well-formulated question - I’m new to this).

My limited ability to digest the documentation tells me maybe this is possible, only with javascript and no other languages. But I can’t figure out how it is done.

Thanks, Owen.

Hi Owen,

The approach you described is solid and Backendless provides an environment to enable the separation of responsibilities exactly how you envision it.

Business logic (aka “Cloud Code”) in Backendless has three forms:

• API Services - think about these as reusable pieces of logic that run on the server
  • Timers - logic that runs on the server according to a pre-defined schedule
  • Event Handlers - logic that is executed right before and right after any given standard API